This article originally appeared in The Bar Examiner print edition, Fall 2020 (Vol. 89, No. 1), p. 87.

The following members of NCBE’s policy committees were appointed in August 2020 and will serve through August 2021. NCBE Chair Hulett H. Askew and NCBE President Judith A. Gundersen are ex-officio members of these policy committees.

Character and Fitness Investigations

  • Anthony R. Simon, Chair
  • Heidi Faenza
  • Elizabeth A. Greenidge
  • Curtis Hairston
  • Kathleen B. Harrington
  • Carole McMahon-Boies
  • Gina Palmer
  • Roger Rinehart
  • Jeffrey Shipley
  • Bradley W. Skolnik
  • Carol P. Smith
  • Andrea Spillars
  • Keith Wilkinson

Diversity and Inclusion

  • Hon. Phyllis D. Thompson, Chair
  • Hon. Waymond Brown
  • Prof. Timothy Davis
  • Hon. Juan Hoyos
  • Esther Lin
  • C. Kailani Memmer
  • Carol Mitchell
  • Hon. Jenny Rivera

Editorial Advisory

  • Margaret Fuller Corneille, Chair
  • Gicine P. Brignola
  • Jack Hieb
  • Sherry M. Hieber
  • Shellie Park-Hoapili
  • Sophie S. Martin
  • Daniel Saar
  • Suzanne J. Schmitz


  • Suzanne K. Richards, Chair
  • Maureen Ryan Braley
  • David R. Cooper
  • Jennifer E. Day
  • Emily J. Eschweiler
  • Catherine Crooks Hill
  • Mark A. Huntsberger
  • Eric Neu
  • Shela Shanks
  • Pieter Teeuwissen

Multistate Bar Examination

  • Hulett H. Askew, Chair
  • Hon. Cynthia L. Martin
  • David R. Boyd
  • Robert S. McMillen
  • Augustin Rivera, Jr.
  • Darin B. Scheer
  • Anthony R. Simon
  • Hon. Phyllis D. Thompson
  • Timothy Y. Wong

Multistate Essay Examination / Multistate Performance Test

  • Timothy Y. Wong, Chair
  • Arlene Y. Coleman
  • Michael Colodner
  • Christopher Hawks
  • Jeffrey A. Howes
  • Michael McCabe
  • Aasia Mustakeem
  • Cathleen Shrader
  • Steven Waterman
  • Hon. Daniel Winfree
  • Brian Yost

Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination

  • Hon. Ann A. Scott Timmer, Chair
  • L. David Cromwell
  • Jessica F. Kallipolites
  • Lawrence King
  • Ernest Sanders
  • Sunita Sharma
  • Andrew R. Strauss
  • Lee A. Vlahos
  • Nancy Vincent
  • Jeffrey Ward


  • Darin B. Scheer, Chair
  • Justin C. Aday
  • Samuel Chang
  • Nahdiah Hoang
  • Sahbra Smook Jacobs
  • Brian Kunzi
  • Joni Dickson Seko
  • Troy Wood

Uniform Bar Examination

  • Marilyn J. Wellington, Chair
  • Hon. Donald Beatty
  • Arlene Coleman
  • Hon. Anne C. Dranginis (ret.)
  • Hon. Zel M. Fischer
  • Hon. Michael G. Heavican
  • Daniel F. Johnson
  • C. Alfred Mackenzie
  • Lisa Perlen
  • Hon. Thomas Waterman
  • Caroline M. Wong

Contact us to request a pdf file of the original article as it appeared in the print edition.



  • Bar
    Bar Exam Fundamentals

    Addressing questions from conversations NCBE has had with legal educators about the bar exam.

  • Online
    Online Bar Admission Guide

    Comprehensive information on bar admission requirements in all US jurisdictions.

  • NextGen
    NextGen Bar Exam of the Future

    Visit the NextGen Bar Exam website for the latest news about the bar exam of the future.

  • BarNow
    BarNow Study Aids

    NCBE offers high-quality, affordable study aids in a mobile-friendly eLearning platform.

  • 2023
    2023 Year in Review

    NCBE’s annual publication highlights the work of volunteers and staff in fulfilling its mission.

  • 2022
    2022 Statistics

    Bar examination and admission statistics by jurisdiction, and national data for the MBE and MPRE.